I’m Amazed….

Posted: April 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

I have had two potential customers this week come to me related to having their computer serviced. Both of these potential customers were female. I explained exactly what I could do for their computer, and both of them very much wanted to have it done. Both of these females were married, and before they made a financial decision, they had to consult with their husbands. I completely understand this. One husband responded that he “knew” someone who could fix her laptop for free, and the price I had given her was “a little high”. My quote for her was to backup her existing data, reformat and reload the operating system, install all updates and necessary security software (free stuff that works), and put all her data back on- for $75. That was my quote. When he said my price was too high, I consulted the “Geek Squad” page for prices and seen what they would charge. For an OS reload, in store, it is $129.99. This does not include backing up the data. That’s an additional $69.99. This is over $200 with taxes. But my price is high. This sincerely made me laugh.

The other potential customer, contacted her husband, and discussed it. His concern was that I was taking the laptop with me to work on, because they have personal and financial information on the laptop. I completely understand the concern, however, anywhere you take this computer, the information on it is at risk. I am a professional, and I conduct myself as such. I don’t go through your pictures or your documents or your tax information- I could care less about this information. I backup whatever data is contained within your profile (and anything you save will be in this profile, unless you put it on the C drive, which I check for as well)- that’s it.

The second female left stating “if he makes me fail, he’s gonna have hell to pay”- which is funny- because he is the reason she will not be able to finish her assignment. I still gave both of these females my business card, and told them to give me a call if they needed. I understand that handing your computer over to a stranger is scary, but I’m a business just like those other businesses you see on the street. The only difference is my business is completely mobile- and if I need to keep the computer overnight, it’s at my house, safe and sound.

Comments are closed.